Daily News for Every Age

Eknath Shinde takes the oath of office as Maharashtra’s new Chief Minister


Maharashtra Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari swore in Eknath Sambhaji Shinde as the 20th Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

He started by remembering late Shiv Sena leaders Bal Thackeray and Anand Dighe.


As he finished taking the oath, his supporters chanted Thackeraya and Dighe’s names.

Eknath Shinde, a senior Shiv Sena leader, has served four consecutive terms as MLA from Thane’s Kopri-Pachpakhadi constituency.

Nationalist Congress Party’s Jayant Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal, Shiv SenA’s Subhash Desai, and Congress’ Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut are among those who took the oath.

The cabinet meeting will make a decision on bullet trains in the state.